About Us


The Winston-Salem Sister Cities Board was established by a resolution adopted by the Winston-Salem City Council on August 18, 1997. It is charged with seeking to promote international cooperation, understanding, and development through a variety of dynamic exchanges with specific cities with whom Winston-Salem maintains an active, formalized relationship.

Seven members are appointed by the Winston-Salem City Council upon the recommendation of the Mayor. The remaining fourteen members are appointed by the Winston Salem Sister Cities Board.

Current Board Members

Dave Van Pelt - Chairman/State Coordinator G. Doug Atkinson - Treasurer
Kim Hutchinson - Secretary Szcaepan Baran (Stephan) VMD, MS
Shaun & Catia Gittard - Ungheni Committee Chair Lei Zhang
James Hunder - Buchanan Committee Chair Bernie Yevin
Sharon Glover - Nassau Committee Chair Terrin Tucker
Dr. Edward Opoku-Dapaah - Kumasi Committee Chair Joseph Molnar
Zhenlin Zheng - Shanghai Committee Chair Anh Nghiem

The City of Winston-Salem is represented by Ruben Gonzales, Business Development Administrator and Sister Cities Coordinator.